Day 1 of no spend month

Well day 1 is finished and we only spent on groceries today. I was trying to keep it under $150 a week for our 2 adult, 2 child, 2 dog household and I got pretty close at $155.67! Next week will be under πŸ˜‰

This afternoon the girls helped me make muffins. The recipe I use is ridiculously easy and you can use up any old fruit you have lying around.

030

The recipe is as follows:

  • 2 cups self-raising flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup of melted butter or oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup of milk

Mix all the dry ingredients together and all the wet ingredients together in separate bowls then add both together. Pop into a greased muffin tray and cook for 20mins at 175C. You can sprinkle a little bit of sugar on top of each muffin before baking if you like.

You can literally add anything to this recipe and it turns out. Any old fruit (mushed), choc chips, jam, coconut, raisins, etc. The possibilities are endless. The pic above is banana and choc chip muffins (cooling on an old oven rack from our old stove that my hubby bent into a cooling rack for me – waste not, want not! :)).

These kinds of easy recipes will help us out a lot during this month – snacks on hand are essential!

*I cant take credit for this recipe – it came from a forum on a site called ‘Simple Savings’ years ago πŸ™‚

Edited to add: my Coles home delivery showed up & I didn’t take into account a discount & item out of stock so groceries actually came to $150.31! Only 31c over budget πŸ™‚ Plus as they were late I got a $20 credit on my next shop.

 

6 thoughts on “Day 1 of no spend month

Leave a Reply

