Into the second week of no spend July we go…

Nothing was spent yesterday. I’m surprised how much brain power it is taking to not spend money though. I would have thought it would be the opposite. When you are so used to spending here and there I guess it becomes more of a habit then you realise. For example yesterday I was off to my mother’s group and as it was a last minute decision because I wasn’t feeling 100% after my cold, my initial thought was that I would just grab some snacks on the way. Then I remembered no spend and raided the cupboard. Found a bag of chips and a pack of biscuits and I was on my way. Then on the way home I realised it was 1pm and my first thought was I would just call in and grab some hot chips. Home to make sandwiches I went. Lastly I was feeling really yuck and was on the verge of saying ‘stuff it’ because I was exhausted and wanted to just buy dinner. I forced myself up to make a quick butter chicken pack. This was all just in one day!

So today with my eldest home I realised I needed a plan (otherwise I would hear ‘Mum, mum, MUM!!! What are we doing today??’ repeatedly for hours. It’s really cold here at the moment and we’re getting over bugs so I didn’t want a park day. Usually I would probably just take her somewhere but today I came up with another plan. Cooking. She loves to cook. So we made damper.

005

It turned out great! Damper is cheap, easy for a kid to make and tastes really nice.

006

We also tried to make zucchini chips but they were a massive fail… think I used too much oil. Will make some biscuits or muffins after lunch.

The recipe for damper we used was:

  • 3 cups of self raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 80g butter, chilled, cubed
  • 3/4 cup water

Preheat over to 200 degrees. Line tray with baking paper.

Combine flour and salt in a large bowl.

Use your fingertips to rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

Add water to the flour mixture and mix until the mixture comes together. Adding 1-2 tablespoons of extra water at a time if the mixture is too dry.

Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently for 1-2mins or until smooth. Shape into a disc and place on tray. Use a sharp knife coated in flour to mark 6 wedges on top (makes it easier to pull apart after cooking). Dust with a little flour and bake for 30mins or until cooked through.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve warm or at room temp.

4 thoughts on “Into the second week of no spend July we go…

Leave a Reply

