Frugal, healthy eating 

While I try to cook cleaner, more nutritious meals, I also need to make sure they are frugal. 

Tonight I decided to throw a stack of things together & see how it worked -thankfully it did! 

I marinated 1 diced chicken breast in honey & mustard. I then cooked up a concoction of every veggie I could lay my hands on…

  
The veggies I stir fried were:

  • Mushrooms
  • Sugarsnap peas
  • Bok choy
  • Beans
  • Celery
  • Capsicum
  • Carrot
  • Kale
  • Spring onions

I added the chicken which also in turn coated the veggies in a bit of marinade. I then cooked up some sliced potato with parsley.

  
We buy our veggies from either farmers markets or our local farmgate. Not only does this mean they are really fresh & last a long time, but they are well priced & we are supporting our local farmers :). All the different veggies + single chicken breast gave our family all the good stuff they needed, it tasted beautiful & fresh and was really economical. 

I used to always cook 2 chicken breasts with every meal. Now I cook one, cut it into smaller pieces, bulk it out with veggies & you honestly don’t even notice the difference. Great for the grocery budget 🙂

One thought on “Frugal, healthy eating 

Leave a Reply

