My love for second hand

I find it interesting that people will pay hundreds of dollars to stay in a hotel and sleep in second hand sheets & use second hand towels but won’t go near an op shop. People who will buy ‘vintage’ clothing & other items for amazing prices but wouldn’t dare go to a garage sale. I love second hand. Not only am I  saving the earths resources but I’m saving money. 

Here are a few things around my home that are second hand…

   
Hutch, table & chairs

 Fire & utensils. Hearth was made from an offcut & wood edging made by my father in law.

   
Stand rescued from landfill for me by a mate

 This was my Aunty’s then became my ‘glory box’.

   
My $1 light off eBay 

 My late Dads computer on a desk my brother made me when I was around 13 ❤️

   
Lamp & 4 draw storage

 Chairs I got for $10 & revamped with my daughters 

Imagine how different the world would be if people sourced second hand before buying new?

2 thoughts on “My love for second hand

  1. A lot less in the land fill for sure! you’ve scored some stunning pieces! i buy nearly all our clothes as second hand since we tend to destroy them in one season anyway. Why pay more than a buck or two!? Most of our furniture is second hand. A few pieces I had recovered. But i buy new mattresses and towels. Well, honestly, i haven’t bought new towels since all our wedding gifts over 20 years ago! It might be time….. Thank you for encouraging us to keep looking for new purpose in old items.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

