Reflections on 2015

It’s been a rough year. I was diagnosed with depression, battled demons, lost my much loved Dad, put on 10kgs, had multiple family dramas & ended the year in a shitty financial situation.

But with the bad comes the good. I am starting the learn coping techniques for my depression & understand my triggers. A lot of people may think that once you go on medication your depression is cured but that’s simply not the case. In my situation the ‘black dog’ is always there but the really bad days are not as often. I’ve learnt that on my bad days I don’t need to do more then the minimum – I just need to work my way through the day because tomorrow will be better.

I completed a 4 day walk in memory of my Dad & raised just over $1300 for CurePSP in his honor. Those funds are going to a fantastic cause & I’m so thankful for the support of my family & friends.

We have looked out our debt & worked out how to deal with it better next year. I’m going to go back to how I budgeted last year & write all our spending down. With money so tight that seems to be the only way we can keep on top.

My final goal is to get my weight sorted & start looking after myself more. Dealing with 2 little kids & working late nights means I don’t have much left in the tank to look after myself – this needs to change. Happy Mum = happy kids.

So onwards & upwards for 2016. We have a trip to cairns planned for September that I’m really looking forward to – a 3 week road trip travelling in our little camper. Now to make sure we have the money…

7 thoughts on “Reflections on 2015

  1. Oh, I am so sorry about all your troubles – that is SO much to happen in one year. Maybe why you are depressed? I went through a similar situation several years ago and was prescribed medication for a while, but after much prayer and learning to set boundaries on my time and emotions, it was only a couple years before i was completely off medications and moving forward strongly. Definitely document every expenditure, regardless of how small, and including those cash tickets. It’s the only way to know exactly where your money goes. Budget your time – those kiddos won’t be with you for long – boy, they grow up too fast! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cuGD4KqKLtE “You Raise Me Up”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are wounds that never show on the body that are deeper and more hurtful than anything that bleeds. Your strength is out of this world and its always alright to put your hand up and say you need a hug or back off I’ve got this.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

