Why do we wait?

I borrowed ‘Love your sister’ from the library last week. For those that don’t know what it’s about, actor Samuel Johnson rode around Australia on a unicycle to raise money for breast cancer research after his sister Connie received her terminal diagnosis. Its a very easy read with the first half of the book written by his sister Connie and the second half by Sam. His writing cracks me up. Its raw, honest and hilarious.

The book makes a lot of references to doing something that will make a difference, leaving a legacy, doing things that make you happy and savouring the now while you can. Connie was given 3yrs to live so she decided to live her life to the fullest. It got me thinking, why don’t we do that anyway? I haven’t received a terminal diagnosis, but who says I don’t have 3yrs until I get hit by a bus?

We always hear people that have had near death experiences or terminal diagnoses say they are living life to the fullest – why don’t we do that anyway when we don’t know what the future holds? Life is so fickle and it goes so fast. Its so easy to get swept up in the day to day crap that we often forget about the big picture.

With that being said, I’m going to do a blog on my ’40 by 40′ list that I created when I turned 30. It’s 40 things I want to do by the time I turn 40. I have already ticked off a few items on there, but I need to keep it at the forefront of my mind from now on. I have lots more to tick off before that bus comes…

 

2 thoughts on “Why do we wait?

  1. Because people don’t like to see you to go off the path and they plant those seeds of doubt to get in your way. For many people Maybe life doesn’t take on a meaning until the near death experience? A little bit of you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true. I’ve been reading about families who pack up & travel Aus for 6mths & it sounds unreal. Money & work side is scary tho.

      Like

Leave a Reply

